Fruit frenzy!

21 Sep

Summer has always been my favorite season. It still is, despite having endured one of the hottest summers recorded in North Carolina history, and previously unfamiliar with this thing called ‘humidity.’ But, with the autumnal equinox less than two days away, the days will be getting shorter soon, the weather will cool and all of the great things summer brings with it will fade away.

What will I miss most?

Sweet, juicy, humongous, abundant, delicious fruit! Seriously, my Southwestern friends – y’all are missing out. The fruit here in the South is so, SO good.

Since the beginning of summer, I’ve been making a giant bowl of fruit salad every week. Watermelon, cantaloupe, honeydew, strawberries, blueberries, grapes – basically, I throw in whatever I can find, and usually by Thursday the entire bowl is gone.

The strange thing is, one of my most vivid memories of young childhood in North Carolina is picking strawberries with my family and some of my dad’s friends. Obviously, that one afternoon in a strawberry field made a real impression! I can’t help but reflect back on that when I dig in to that bowl o’ fruit.

Sluuurp!

Leave a comment